Website Manager

Prince William Girls Fastpitch Softball

Prince William Girls Fastpitch Softball

Pitching program


Winter 2021 program

For PWGFS families preparing for the Spring season, our offseason training offerings are open for registration. Use the link on the upper right-hand side of this site to get started.

The pitching program offers instruction for beginner and intermediate pitchers of all ages, and runs Jan. 13 to March 13. It is open to players who are simultaneously registering for a PWGFS season. See below for more detail. Sessions take place on Wednesdays, between 5 and 7 p.m., ad Saturdays, between 9:30 and 11:30 a.m. Phil Freeman and Larry Belk, both seasoned coaches at the travel, high school and recreational league levels, are the instructors.

It is held at the Kids' Choice Sports and Fun Center at 13000 Sport and Health Drive, Woodbridge, Va., 22192.

Covid safety guidelines as provided by the center, county and state will be in place, which means everyone will need to wear a mask and socially distance when entering the building. Participants may remove their masks when they begin to pitch, but adult catchers will have to wear them, and no additional guests will be allowed to accompany the pitcher indoors.

Players who need help meeting the costs might qualify for the Lacy Scholarship Fund. Reach out to [email protected] for details.

The price for the pitching program varies by age group:

  • 8u - $295 (includes spring, fall and pitching program fee)
  • 10u and 12u - $395 (includes spring, fall and pitching program fee)
  • 14u/16u - $405 (includes spring, fall and pitching program fee) 
  • 18u - $405 (includes spring, fall and pitching program fee)
Summer 2020 program
PWGFS families, we are pleased to be able to resume our pitching program. Because of the way the 2020 Winter sessions ended, we are giving the girls who participated the opportunity to loosen up their arms, refamiliarize with their instruction, and prepare to pitch this fall. Even though we are requiring pitchers to register again, if they participated in the winter program, the summer sessions will come at no charge. We will meet at Andrew Leitch Park on:
 
Tuesday, July 14, from 6-8 p.m.
Thursday, July 16, from 6-8 p.m.
Saturday, July 18, from 9-11 a.m.
Tuesday, August 4, from 6-8 p.m.
Thursday, August 6, from 6-8 p.m.
Saturday, August 8, from 9-11 a.m.
 
Please use the register link in the upper right corner of PWGFS.net to register. If your pitcher was in the first session in the winter, their summer session will take place during the first hour, and if your pitcher was in the second session, they will be in the second hour. Please arrive 15 minutes before your start time to allow for temperature screening. If you have any questions, reach out to the Registrar ([email protected]).
 
Participants must follow the recommendations laid out by the PWGFS Safety Commissioner to take part. Parents will also be required to sign a waiver. The pitchers (and any catchers) will have their temperatures taken, and anyone above 100.4 will be asked to depart the field area. Additionally, we request that anyone who feels sick does not come to the field, and instead let Coach Larry or Coach Phill know that they will miss the session.

Winter 2020 program
Does your daughter plan to pitch or catch this coming softball season? Has she shown interest, but never been able to try it in a game? PWGFS is now accepting sign-ups for its 2020 winter pitching program -- a great value compared to private coaching -- but space is limited, so don't wait to reserve your spot.

The program is open to beginning and intermediate pitchers. Don't wait until the season starts for your player to start practicing. Now is the time to sharpen their skills!

Clinic locations: Rippon Middle School (Tuesdays and Thursdays) and Fred Lynn Middle School (Saturdays)
Dates: Jan. 7 through March 14.
Times: One-hour sessions between 6:30-8:30 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and Saturdays, 9-12.
Cost: $150, but priority goes to those players that have registered for the Spring/Fall Discount (8U $295, 10U & 12U $395, and 16U/18U $405)
Instructors: Larry Belk, Phil Freeman, Steve Shipp. Larry and Phil (pictured above) have coached PWGFS, travel and at local Middle and High Schools. Steve is a longtime coach and instructor whose daughter is a pitcher for Michigan State.

An adult must be present; pitchers will need a catcher to work with, and the parent is the best choice. Experienced pitchers and catchers may work together, but an adult must still be present to learn the material so it can be practiced at home.

Sessions last one hour. Players will be split into two groups that practice for one hour each, either 6:30-7:30 or 7:30-8:30, at Rippon, and either 9-10 or 11-12 on Saturdays at Fred Lynn. Groups will be determined after the Jan. 9 assessment.


Register by clicking here. Send questions to [email protected]

Aren't sure you're ready to commit? There will be a free introduction/demonstration Jan. 7 at Rippon, and an assessment/parent discussion Jan. 9. The programs begin in earnest on Jan. 11.  

Here's the full list of dates: 

Tues. Jan. 7 (Free introductory session)
Thurs. Jan. 9 (Assessment and discussion with parents)
Sat. Jan. 11 at Fred Lynn MS
NO CLINICS Jan. 14, 16 or 18
Tues. Jan. 21
Sat. Jan. 25
Tues. Jan. 28
Thurs. Jan. 30
Sat. Feb. 1
Tues. Feb. 4
Thurs. Feb. 6
Sat. Feb. 8
Tues. Feb. 11
Thurs. Feb. 13 
Sat. Feb. 15
Tues. Feb. 18
Thurs. Feb. 20
Sat. Feb. 22
Tues. Feb. 25
Thurs. Feb. 27
Sat. Feb. 29
Tues. Mar. 3 
Thurs. Mar. 5
Sat. Mar. 7
Tues. Mar. 10 
Thurs. Mar. 12
Sat. Mar. 14

- 30 -

Copyright © 2021 Prince William Girls Fastpitch Softball  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In